broken clouds


Laguna Beach

Ten Boys Who Care repeat $500 Gift to Godinez Athletics because “Every Kid Should Get to Play”

For the second year in a row, Ten Boys Who Care extended their giving to a Santa Ana high school athletic department. Godinez Athletic Director, Greg Combs, was thrilled to receive the Ten Boys gift again this year. 

When the Ten Boys discovered last year that some kids face barriers in playing high school sports, they voted to donate to a high school athletic department in Santa Ana. “When we heard some kids can’t play sports because they can’t afford basic things, we decided to donate $500 to Godinez High School Athletics,” explained Sam Reynolds. 

Click on photo for larger image

Submitted photo

(L to R) Johnny Nguyen, Sam Reynolds, Mason Lebby, and Andrew Mendoza

Sam Reynolds and Mason Lebby presented the $500 check to Godinez High School during their away varsity tennis match this week at Godinez. Greg Combs, AD, made a point of coming to meet the boys personally at the match. He told them a story about the funds they provided in 2017.  

“Last year we had a wonderful young man receive an Athletes of Character Award.  The Ten Boys Who Care gift helped this wonderful young man get the tools he needed to play. This student-athlete was recognized for his team-first attitudes and dedication to fair play. We thought it fit perfectly with the Ten Boys Who Care mission.”  

However, this is just one of the ways these boys are helping athletes – not only in Santa Ana, but here at home, too.

Ten Boys Who Care, who started fundraising in seventh grade, will award their fifth year of scholarships at LBHS this June. They began raising money by painting curbs, washing cars, playing music at events and holding their mega yard sale for LBHS graduates to receive a scholarship recognizing good sportsmanship. They will continue the tradition from now until they graduate in 2019.

The Ten Boys Who Care include Zack Bonnin, Sam Kluver, Enzo Sadler, Mason Lebby, Sam Reynolds, Kent Cebreros, Noah Linder, Blake Pivaroff, Ayrton Garcia, and Gustav Morck.

Lana Johnson, Editor -

Tom Johnson, Publisher -

Dianne Russell is our Associate Editor.

Michael Sterling is our Webmaster & Designer.

Mary Hurlbut and Scott Brashier are our photographers.

Alexis Amaradio, Dennis McTighe, Diane Armitage, Maggi Henrikson, Marrie Stone, Sara Hall, Stacia Stabler and Suzie Harrison are our writers and/or columnists.

In Memoriam - Stu Saffer and Barbara Diamond.

Email: with news releases, letters, etc.


Email: for questions about advertising


© 2022 Stu News Laguna - All Rights Reserved.