Share this story

Laguna Board of REALTORS - Charitable Assistance Fund comes through for Laguna Food Pantry

The Laguna Food Pantry was a beneficiary of the Laguna Board of REALTORS & Affiliates’ Charitable Assistance Fund’s 23rd Annual A Taste for Charity & Silent Art Auction, which raised more than $106,000.

“We are overwhelmed at the Realtors’ ongoing support,” said Pantry executive director Anne Belyea. “It gives us a big boost that will allow us to purchase quality food at a substantial discount. Our volunteer operations team has become quite savvy at finding bargains on fresh, nutritious food items for our shoppers to choose from.” 

Laguna Board group

Submitted photo

Laguna Board of REALTORS treasurer Patrick Zellar presented a check to the Laguna Food Pantry’s treasurer Susan Thomas (left), executive director Anne Belyea and board vice chair Suriya Khan Mastroberti

The Laguna Board of REALTORS & Affiliates’ Charitable Assistance Fund is a stand-alone nonprofit organization with its own board of directors. It was created in 2004 by the Laguna Board of REALTORS to help its own members and affiliate members who find themselves struggling economically, as well as others in the community. 

LBR-CAF committee chair Natalie Alvarez noted, “Everyone who serves on the board of directors for the Charitable Assistance Fund is concerned with the needs within our community. Laguna’s ‘A Taste for Charity’ event aims to address these needs with disbursements to organizations that help people in need.” 

Every weekday, Laguna Food Pantry collects and distributes 4,000 lbs. of free, fresh groceries to approximately 80 families, half of whom have children. Located at 20652 Laguna Canyon Road north of the Dog Park, the Pantry is open from 8 to 10:30 a.m. Monday through Friday. It is run almost entirely by volunteers, and new recruits are welcome. For more information, call (949) 497-7121 or visit

Shaena Stabler, President & CEO -

Lana Johnson, Editor -

Tom Johnson, Publisher -

Dianne Russell is our Associate Editor.

Michael Sterling is our Webmaster & Designer.

Mary Hurlbut and Scott Brashier are our photographers.

Alexis Amaradio, Dennis McTighe, Marrie Stone, Sara Hall, Suzie Harrison and Theresa Keegan are our writers and/or columnists.

In Memoriam - Stu Saffer and Barbara Diamond.

Email: with news releases, letters, etc.


Email: for questions about advertising


*The content and ads in this publication do not necessarily reflect the opinions or views of the publisher.

© 2023 2S Publishing, LLC - All Rights Reserved.