Laguna Beach High School Junior Varsity Girls Sand Volleyball crowned League Champs

In their inaugural season, the Laguna Beach Girls JV Sand Volleyball team captured the Sunset League championship. The team was seeded 7th to start the competition, but dominated play and won their four team matches during the two-week tournament.

Laguna Beach male coach

Click on photo for a larger image

Submitted photo

Back Row: (L-R) Coach Steve McFadden, Emma Bladergroen, Alessandra Nitoglia, Lucy Loughlin, Madison Rogers, Nikki Ruch, Lucky Hauer, Sophie Reavis, Jacqueline Witteman, Sydney Freeman, Natalie Olson, and Annabelle Kiesweter; Front Row: Amelie Sadler, Sophie Black, Harper Bunn, and Luisa LoFranco; Not in photo: Coach Nicolette Martin, Shanti Nunn, and Olivia Policastro.

The championship match pitted LBHS against 8th seeded Edison High School.   

The top-seeded Laguna team of Sophie Reavis and Emma Bladergroen won a hard fought two-set victory over the pair from Edison High School. After taking the first set 21-15, Reavis and Bladergroen were in a back and forth match with both teams having opportunities to win the second set. 

Laguna Beach Emma and Sophie

Click on photo for a larger image

Submitted photo

Emma Bladergroen and Sophie Reavis

Serving at 21-20, Bladergroen served a ball that proved too tough to handle, giving Reavis/Bladergroen the 22-20 win. The Laguna Beach girls won the other four matches as well, recording the following scores: 

Laguna Beach Coach Martin

Click on photo for a larger image

Submitted photo

Semi-final victory with Coach Nicolette Martin

--Amelie Sadler & Sophie Black, 21-7, 21-12 

--Lucky Hauer & Luisa LoFranco 21-12, 21-17 

--Sydney Freeman & Alessandra Nitoglia – 21-10, 21-15 

--Lucy Loughlin & Annabelle Kiesweter – 21-7, 21-10 

Laguna Beach winners

Click on photo for a larger image

Submitted photo


Edison conceded the 4v4 match, resulting in a 7-0 final championship game tally. 

The team’s dramatic improvement during the year can be credited to coaches Nicolette Martin and Steve McFadden.